Is there a 100% free CRM? Yes. Several vendors offer free-forever plans with no credit card and no expiry, including HubSpot, Zoho, Salesforce, Attio, Vtiger and Kylas. But no free plan is unlimited: each caps users, records, emails or automation. Open-source CRMs are licence-free, though you pay for hosting and upkeep.
So the useful question is not "is it free?" but "which limit will I hit first, and when?" This guide compares the main free CRM plans side by side, shows where each one runs out, and flags the costs that appear even when the software is free.
Key takeaways
- Free-forever CRM plans exist and are genuinely usable for small teams, but every one has a ceiling.
- User caps range from 1 (Bigin) to unlimited (Kylas); record caps from 500 to 50,000.
- Pipedrive, monday CRM and Freshsales offered trials, not free-forever plans, as of September 2026.
- Open-source CRMs have no licence fee but cost money and time to host and maintain.
- Channel costs such as WhatsApp Business messages are charged separately, even on a free plan.
Free CRM plans compared (as of September 2026)
All figures come from each vendor's official pricing page in September 2026. Free plans change often, so check the vendor site before you commit.
| CRM | Free users | Record or contact cap | Notable limit | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | Up to 2 | 1,000 contacts | 2,000 emails/month with branding; 1 automated action | Inbound marketing basics |
| Salesforce Free Suite | 2 | Not stated | 100 emails/month; log in every 60 days | Teams planning to grow into Salesforce |
| Zoho CRM | 3 | Varies | Limited automation | Small teams already using Zoho apps |
| Bigin | 1 | 500 records | 1 pipeline | Solo founders |
| Attio | Up to 3 | 50,000 records | Advanced reporting on paid tiers | Startups with lots of contacts |
| Vtiger One Pilot | Up to 10 | 3,000 records | 3 GB storage; 1,000 emails/month | Small teams needing seats |
| Kylas Embark | Unlimited | 10,000 records | Record cap not expandable | Indian SMBs with growing teams |
| Bitrix24 Free | 1–2 (India page) | Not stated | 5 GB storage | CRM plus tasks and chat |
| Privyr Free Forever | Up to 3 | Not stated | Limited templates | Mobile-first lead follow-up |
| SuiteCRM (self-hosted) | Unlimited | Your server | You host and maintain it | Teams with technical staff |
Which free CRM limit will you hit first?
Each free plan has one limit that tends to bite early. Knowing it in advance saves a painful mid-year migration.
Users
The most common ceiling. HubSpot and Salesforce stop at two, Zoho at three. If you have four salespeople, a free plan with a two-user cap is not free for you; it is a trial with extra steps. Vtiger and Kylas are the options that allow bigger teams at zero cost.
Records
Bigin's 500 records suits a consultant, not a business running ads. HubSpot's 1,000 contacts disappears quickly once lead forms are live. As an illustration, a Jaipur coaching institute collecting 300 enquiries a month from Instagram and its website would pass HubSpot's contact cap in about four months and Bigin's in under two.
Automation
Free plans usually allow little or no workflow automation. HubSpot's free tier lists one automated action. That means follow-up reminders, lead assignment and nurture sequences stay manual, which is where most small teams lose leads.
AI features
AI agents and generous AI credits are almost always paid features. Some free plans include basic AI help; Salesforce says its Free Suite can summarize customer details and draft emails. For a fuller breakdown, see our guide to free AI CRM tools.
The hidden costs of a "free" CRM
A free plan removes the licence fee, not every cost.
- Messaging. On the WhatsApp Business Platform, Meta has charged per message since July 2025 for marketing templates, and for utility and authentication templates outside an open customer service window. Your CRM plan being free does not change that.
- Hosting and maintenance. Open-source tools like SuiteCRM advertise no licence fees, but you need a server, backups, security patches and an admin.
- Branding. Free email and forms often carry the vendor's logo, which some clients notice.
- Migration later. Outgrow a free plan and you either upgrade within that vendor (often a big jump) or migrate your data, which takes time.
- Your time. Manual follow-ups on a free plan still cost hours. Compare that with how much a CRM costs per month on an entry paid tier.
Free CRM vs spreadsheet vs paid plan: how to decide
| Your situation | Best choice | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Solo, under 50 active leads | Spreadsheet or Bigin Free | Low volume; see CRM vs Excel for the tipping point |
| 2–3 people, one main channel | HubSpot, Zoho or Attio free plan | Enough seats; basic pipeline and email |
| 4–10 people, budget is zero | Vtiger or Kylas free plan | Higher user caps |
| Leads from ads, WhatsApp and forms daily | Entry paid plan | Automation and integrations matter more than saving the fee |
| Technical team, strict data control | Self-hosted open source | Full control, if you can maintain it |
If you are mainly tracking and assigning enquiries rather than running a full sales process, compare our list of free lead management software. And if free will not stretch far enough, our guide to the cheapest CRM in India covers entry plans from a few hundred rupees per user.
When evaluating free CRM tiers, verify the export limits and record ceiling thresholds before committing customer data. Many free offerings restrict automated data exports, lock phone dialer integrations, or cap total contacts at restrictive levels. Always establish an automated weekly data backup routine to protect your pipeline data from sudden policy or plan tier changes.
Frequently asked questions
Is HubSpot CRM really free forever?
Yes, HubSpot's free plan has no time limit, but it is capped. As of September 2026 its pricing page lists up to 2 users, 1,000 contacts and 2,000 marketing emails a month with HubSpot branding, plus a single automated action. It works well for a founder and one colleague; growing teams usually hit the user or contact cap first.
What is the best free CRM for a team of five or more?
Look at free plans without tight user caps. Vtiger's free One Pilot plan allows up to 10 users with 3,000 records, and Kylas's free plan allows unlimited users with 10,000 records, as of September 2026. Check the record cap against your contact list size first, because that limit usually bites before users do.
Is open-source CRM completely free?
The software licence is free. SuiteCRM, for example, advertises no licence fees and lets you self-host. But you still pay for a server, backups, security updates and someone's time to maintain and customize it. For a small team without technical staff, a hosted free plan is usually cheaper in practice.
Can a free CRM send WhatsApp messages for free?
Not entirely. Even if the CRM plan is free, Meta charges per message on the WhatsApp Business Platform for marketing templates, and for utility and authentication templates sent outside an open customer service window. Replies inside a customer service window are free. Budget for message costs if WhatsApp is a core channel.
Conclusion: free is a starting point, not a destination
A 100% free CRM exists, and for a solo founder or a small team it can be the right first step. Pick the plan whose limits you are least likely to hit in the next six months, and plan your upgrade path before you need it.
Want automation and AI agents that follow up on every lead, not just a free contact list? Try Autometa CRM free.
Related reading
- Best CRM for Small Business in 2026 (Honest Comparison)
- Best CRM for Startups in 2026
- Best Salesforce Alternatives for Small Business
- Best GoHighLevel Alternatives for Agencies
Sources
- HubSpot CRM Pricing — HubSpot, 2026
- Salesforce Free CRM — Salesforce, 2026
- Zoho CRM Pricing — Zoho, 2026
- Bigin Pricing and Editions — Zoho, 2026
- Attio Pricing — Attio, 2026
- Vtiger CRM Pricing — Vtiger, 2026
- Kylas CRM Pricing — Kylas, 2026
- SuiteCRM — SalesAgility, 2026
- WhatsApp Business Platform Pricing — Meta, 2026
- Bitrix24 Plans and Pricing (India) — Bitrix24, 2026
- Privyr Pricing — Privyr, 2026


